Sometimes, you just need to build a bridge and……….

“Supposing God tells you to do something which is an enormous test to your common sense, what are you going to do?”
–Oswald Chambers “My Utmost for His Highest”

What is your biggest fear?

Heights? Deep water? Birds (shout out to my girl Kacie)?

A lot of times, in order to break ourselves of these fears, we face them, over and over.
You overcome that dry mouth, stomach drop, sweaty, shaking  event many times until you finally feel comfortable. Most likely, that fear will never completely go away, there will always be a little hesitancy, a quick flash back to when things didn’t used to be so easy.
But you have trained yourself to be more confident. You have trained yourself to believe that things will be ok, if only you try it one more time.

So maybe your method of dealing with fears isn’t to….deal with them.
How about physical activities?
Have you ever wanted to be really good at a sport? Or lift bigger weights, or build up your endurance, or run a marathon? 
I watched as my friend Josh spent time every day while we were in Nicaragua, kicking a soccer ball around, and striving to be the best soccer player he could possibly be. He pushed his limits and tried over and over again to do more tricks, kick the ball harder and further, run faster.

The thing is, we all get into habits.

Habits of being afraid of irrational things, habits of sitting around, choosing to go on our computers or watch tv instead of getting up and trying something new, bettering ourselves.

And man, do we get into some dangerous spiritual habits.

I can point my finger first and foremost at myself. If I’m being completely honest, I am the biggest chicken when it comes to putting myself out there, talking to people and sharing what my life is about, who I live for. I am so scared of what people will think, scared that I’m bothering them. I make up so many excuses and rationalize that it’s not what normal people do. It’s so out of the ordinary.

God asks me to do some crazy things. Like leaving the country for a year to live somewhere where I will not get paid, I will actually have to raise support to go there. I’m not going to school, not staying to work until I am rich and successful. Common sense and society tell me that it is foolish. It doesn’t make sense and it’s ridiculous.

To be honest, that FREAKS me out! It makes me want to plant myself right here in Michigan and stay comfortable for the rest of my life, pleasing people.

But see, that is the test.

God is pleased with His daughter, Haille, but he is trying to better her.
He’s trying to see how far I would go just to serve Him and praise His holy name. Even if I go and only impact one person, is it worth it?

That’s when I have to get up, and go. I have to make myself so uncomfortable. Because it is all worth it. I have so many great rewards waiting for me in heaven. I don’t even know what they all are! But I trust my God and His love for me, and that is all that matters. I know that the greatest gift I already have is eternal life with my Abba and it’s going to be better than I can imagine.

So…..what am I going to do when these tests come up? I’m going to GO.

I want to ask you guys to join in this with me. Let’s start a generation of people who are willing to fight past their fears of failure to become warriors against discouragement, hopelessness, sickness, violence, spiritual death…anything we can think of that is of sin.

God has given us so much ability to do more than we believe ourselves capable. 

I’ll close with a little story from Acts chapter 5:

This is after Jesus ascended to heaven and left the disciples with the Holy Spirit. They were planting churches, performing miracles, and spreading the name of God everywhere they went.
The pharisees aren’t happy with them for teaching in God’s  name. They threw them in jail, but God freed them by opening the doors. Of course this made the pharisees furious, and they would’ve killed the disciples, when a man named Gamaliel stood up and talked about a man named Theudas who became someone important and acquired a big following. When he died, his entire movement fell apart. He closes with,

“If this is just another movement arising from human enthusiasm, it will die out soon enough. But then again, if God is in this, you won’t be  able to stop it – unless of course, you’re ready to fight against God!” (Acts 5:38-39, The Voice)

AND

In John 16:33 (NLT) Jesus says:
“I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

He has already overcome the world!

So GO, live without fear!

                                                                                                                                          

    I’m still really needing support for my trip back to Nicaragua in the fall to minister to kids like Megan here, youth, adults, the elderly…you name it. If they have a beating heart, I’m going to hang out with them 🙂
I’m trying to raise $10,000 to live for a year in beautiful Nicaragua.
If you are in a place where you can and would like to support me financially, please click the Donate Paypal button on the right side of my blog. I appreciate any amount you prayerfully consider to give.

Thanks for you support, in whatever way it is being given!

I love you all 🙂

–Helenita

Leave a Reply

