I’ve only just begun

Well friends,

My 4 month trip to Nicaragua is over.

I am home back in the states.

I just want to thank each and every one of you who supported me in prayers, emotional and financial support, and following my journey online.

The reason I am going to continue blogging is because…the adventure isn’t over!

Truthfully, I can say that the past four months of my life have been the happiest. They’ve also been the most heart-breaking, the most eye-opening, the most awe-inspiring, the most ridiculous, the most AMAZING as well. To say that God changed my heart is an understatement.

For those of you who don’t know, I graduated high school May of ’11 and planned on taking a year off of school to pursue a singing career. However, that sneaky Jesus decided to send me to Comayagua, Honduras with my church during the summer of ’11 for a week to put a stop to that. While I was there, the Lord worked on my heart and gave me this passion for missions work. I had pretty much NO idea what that entailed, I just knew that God was flipping my plans upside-down and introducing something big.

So now I had this passion. And no idea what to do with it. Thankfully, I have the most awesome youth pastor on the planet, Dan Pratt, who helped me take the next step by finding an organization to take a longer term trip with. Adventures in Missions had the perfect opportunity with their Passport Program for college-aged kids. SO…I signed up to spend 4 months in Nicaragua with 12 complete strangers. You can read about that experience by going back to my older blogs.

While I was there, God spoke to me loud and clear.

Haille, this is what you were made for. These are my people, my children. You were sent here to love them. Not with your own love, but mine. My pure and flawless love. You cannot live an ‘OK’ life. You need to live out the passions and gifts I have given you. Do you want joy? Let me live through you. Surrender your life to me and I will never fail you or give up hope in you.”

I am supposed to be a missionary! What I was doing while in Nicaragua is what gives me absolute freedom. I actually enjoy giving up control. With reckless abandonment. THIS IS WHAT I LIVE FOR!

This blog is to tell you that I’ve decided to devote my life to missions work. Right now, God is calling me outside of America. Specifically….back to Nicaragua. I am still figuring out logistics and all the details, but I felt like you all should know. There is no way I can do this on my own. I am sure beyond a shadow of a doubt that this is where God is calling me right now and He will follow through on His promise to never leave me.

But I also believe that prayer works. Specifically the prayers of YOU! And I am going to need lots of them.

Something I’ve been learning is that in order to let God work in your life, you need to put yourself in situations where if He doesn’t follow through, you’re screwed. Otherwise, you’re limiting the amount of ways He can reveal Himself to you and show you how great of a God He is.

So here I am. This is crazy. This is ridiculously crazy. But I know, I KNOW that this is right. Every time I have listened to what God has asked me to do and trusted Him, He has always come through. Not once have I been let down by Him.

Please be praying for wisdom and discernment in the next steps I will be taking to pursue my calling. Pray that I remember the promises that God has spoken to me and not lose heart. Pray for finances! Lastly, please pray for Nicaragua. That God would be preparing their hearts there to hear the truth about Him and His love and character.

As soon as I figure everything out more definitely, I will update you all. Again, I cannot thank you enough for the  ways that God has blessed me through YOU.

Let me know if there’s anything I can be praying for YOU for!

Te amo con todo mi corazon,

Some of my beautiful girls and I saying Hasta Pronto to Nica!

Haille

3 responses

  1. Aaaaaahhhh! Whaaaaat!? Yaaaayyyyyyyyyyy!!! (I know that’s a pathetic response but I’m still digesting info. I miss you Haille.
    Love,
    Kathleen

  2. Pingback: It’s that time again… | A Heart Full of Mess and Lore

Leave a Reply

